Jewelry making tools and toys

Now that Christmas has come and gone I can concentrate on making jewelry again and play with my new toy!!

It’s not an extravagant or fancy tool, only one I’ve had on my wish list for a while – a dapping block set.

IMG_6358

I don’t even know why I’ve wanted one so badly.  Maybe I just love tools.  This one will not sit idly by my work area like the soldering kit and the silver art clay which I’m afraid to tackle – yet.

It wasn’t until after I had it for a day or two that I realized – I don’t have any blank disks, or brass mallet!  I decided to order some disks from a vendor on http://www.etsy.com.  Then I ordered a brass mallet from http://www.fdjtool.com.  I already had a hole puncher but it was too small for the 1/2″ disks so I ordered an extended jaw hole puncher from http://www.artbeads.com  – they were having a great sale.

IMG_6463

Wow, all of this for the simple little bead caps I wanted to make with my dapping block set.

Well here are the first pair of earrings I made with these new tools.  They’re brown jade beads wearing my little bead caps.

IMG_6447

I’ll still be wire wrapping my beads like this but it’s nice to have alternatives.

IMG_6366

Now to see what else I can do with my new toy 🙂

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jewelry making tools and toys

  1. How cute. Those are awesome! Now you just need a saw so you can spend an hour on each pair of earrings sawing the blanks into little flowers. 🙂

    I bought a Flex Shaft last year. Just had to have it. And I’ve hardly used it! I also bought a tumbler, but haven’t bought the shot. And I want to get tools for soldering. And. And. And. Wow. “And” is a weird word.

    When will it ever end?

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks Joanne!
      I don’t think I’ll be making tiny flowers out of bead caps – those I’ll just buy already made 🙂
      I think we just love to hoard tools and dream of what we can do with them! It will never
      end!!!

      • carlaburke says:

        I’m a long standing member of the club. I have the tumbler & shot – even used it. Once. I have a cheapo sapping set

      • carlaburke says:

        Oiy. As I was attempting to type, when I accidentally hit the submit button: I have a cheapo dapping set that has only been used for providing me with a tactile way of doodling. Yes, my fingers just slide so smoothly into, around and out of the depressions… maybe someday I’ll remember to get some blanks. Or, better yet, I’ll get a punch to make my own, from recycled cans. After I finish the project I’m working on, now – or the one I committed to, for that charity silent auction. No, wait – it will have to wait until after I finish the set for my daughter to wear to prom, this Spring… *hangs head* Ok, but it still makes for a great tactile doodle whatchamacallit.

  2. Tela Formosa says:

    Totally cool!!! I love your bead caps! They look great!

    A friend and I were discussing using a dapping block and are boggled at the choices and prices. Can you share where you got yours? I know the cheap ones are just that, but I am having a problem finding a mid range set. I don’t know how often I would use it, but I’d like to try it.

    Happy New Year, it looks like you are already off to a fun start. 🙂

  3. Shinrin says:

    Cool! Glad you’re enjoying your Chistmas present 🙂 I like those beads too.

    Let’s tackle that silver art clay 😉

  4. Linda C Taylor says:

    What a neat look tool..and no, a woman can never have too many tools…

  5. Christie M says:

    I’m just starting to play with stamping and want to get a brass hammer- debating between the 1 pound and 2 pound. Which one did you order for the dapping? That’s hopefully being added to the “to do” list this year, although I indulged in a Vintaj Big Kick so it’ll be a while. The bead caps are adorable, btw!

  6. Oh, man, I have always wanted to amke my own bead caps. Have started several times to order a dapping set. Not you just might have pushed me over the edge seeing the beauties you made! Hmmm . . . have to find room for the lot!

  7. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks for commenting, Catherine. I just had to get one for no explicable reason. Now that I have one, I’m imagining large, domed, disks, with oxidation and etching on them as pendants or earring dangles. Good thing the whole set comes in a little box so it’s easy to store. I’m always looking for more tools!!

  8. Janice Plasterer says:

    Zoraida, Happy New Year! I love my dapping tools. It is so much fun to see what comes out. I have lately playing with old tins with vintage prints as bead caps, lot’s of fun! Jan P

Leave a Reply

