Beaded Spiral Pendant Tutorial

IMG_6535

This spiral pendant with a circle of beads is quite easy to make.  It can be created in a variety of sizes and beads.  You can use 14 or 16 gauge round, soft wire or square soft wire for the spiral and 20 or 22 gauge wire for the beads.  You could even insert a bead in the center if you leave a big enough hole at the beginning of the spiral.   A simple 16 or 14 gauge jump ring may be used as a bail or you can use any bail you like.  It looks great on a cord, a chain, a ribbon,  a collar or it can be part of a necklace element.

IMG_6538Supplies

12 inches of 16ga or 14ga round or square soft wire
Approximately 20 to 24 inches of 22ga wire
12 to 14 six millimeter beads with holes large enough to accommodate the 22ga wire.
Round nose pliers
Chain nose pliers or bent chain nose pliers
Chasing hammer
Steel block
Ruler
Wire cutter/nipper
16 or 14ga open jump ring or bail

Steps

With the round nose pliers and 12″ piece of 16 or 14ga wire,  create a flat spiral.  Keep each round tight and close to the one before until you get to the last round.  This last round should come out just about 1/8″ in order to leave space for the beading wire.  The spiral should be about 1 inch in diameter.  Leave a tail of 1/2″ to 3/4″ for the loop on top of the spiral.

IMG_6503IMG_6505

Make a loop with the round nose pliers at the end of that tail

IMG_6507

Place the spiral on your steel block and gently hammer all around (skip this step if you’re using square wire).  Make sure you hammer lightly all around the spiral.  If you hammer too much on any side, the spiral may warp out of shape.  If this happens, hammer all around some more and use your hands to flatten the spiral again.  You can hammer the top loop as well but don’t close it completely yet.

IMG_6509

Insert the 22ga piece of wire through the last loop on the spiral at the top where the loop meets the spiral

IMG_6512

Wind the 22ga wire around the top section where the spiral and loop meet

IMG_6514

Wind the 22ga wire around again to secure it leaving a short tail of about 1/2″ to hold onto

Hold the spiral in your non dominant hand and add a bead to the 22ga wire.

IMG_6518

Bring the bead close to last loop on the spiral, insert the wire through the last loop on the spiral from back to front.  Keep the wire snug against the spiral.

IMG_6519

Loop the wire around the last round of the spiral again and bring the wire up to attach another bead

IMG_6520

Continue wrapping and adding beads in the same manner until you reach the top of the spiral next to the small loop and insert the wire through the top loop, go under and up again

IMG_6521

The spiral with have a textured side from the hammering and a smooth side.  Both sides are attractive and you can have either face out.

IMG_6523IMG_6522

Bring the 22ga piece of wire toward the center of the top loop, cut it close to the bottom center.  Cut any extra tail wires and if your top loop is still open, close it now.

IMG_6524IMG_6527

Tuck in the cut end of the 22ga wire with your chain nose pliers

IMG_6529

Attach a jump ring or bail to the top loop.  Add your chain, cord, collar, ribbon and you’re done!!!

IMG_6534

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, tutorials, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Beaded Spiral Pendant Tutorial

  1. Dianna says:

    Very cool Zoraida! Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Great tutorial- can’t wait to try it! Thank you! Christie

  3. Donna Geurin says:

    Zoraida, thank you so much. I love it and look forward to trying my hand at making it. Love your tutorials.

  4. Very pretty pendant Zoraida. Thank you for sharing your tutorial.

    Linda

  5. Wow, that is soo pretty. Thank you for showing it to us.

  6. Suzan Evans says:

    Beautifully done. Do I have permission to make these to sell? I too work a lot with copper and I love what you do..
    Thanks
    Suzan

  7. Jeannie says:

    Thank you so much for sharing and for allowing small time crafters to try and make a little extra money! Definitely will credit your design if I do decide to make any to sell.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you,Jeannie 🙂 I appreciate the compliment and good intentions. I am small time myself and believe that sharing whatever I know will bring good karma, eventually.

  8. Susiem says:

    So many ways you could change them up! Very nice!

  9. Pearl says:

    Another wonderful tutorial that I am going to feature and share on my blog! Really uplifting to see a sun design in winter!

  10. skookin says:

    I just made a nice pair of earrings for my sister’s birthday with this tutorial. Thank you for the cool design idea and excellent instructions 😀

  11. Thanks for this great tutorial! I have been wanting to start working working with wire and metal but have been a little intimidated. Your step-by-step description makes me feel like I should just jump in and give it a try. Thanks for the inspiration! Veronica

  12. Divya N says:

    This is beautiful…thanks

  13. Val says:

    Great tutorial! I love the design!

  14. Kathy Spiers says:

    I’m in St Louis and on a snow day today…guess what I’ll be doing? Making this great pendant!! THANK YOU so much for being willing to share the design with us! Really appreciate your generosity! Kathy

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Katherine. What a great way to spend a snow day! I’m flattered. Hope the snow doesn’t get too bad. It’s expected to come this way (NY) by tomorrow. I’m not looking forward to another storm!

  15. Donna Arena says:

    The really good thing about snow days is having the time to indulge in a new design by way of a fantastic tutorial…we are so lucky to have you share your expertise and beautiful jewelry!!! I betcha that karma is on it’s way back around to you REAL soon!!! Thanks so much!!!
    Donna

  16. Hello Zoraida, Thank you for this tutorial. This is most beautiful. I am starting out in jewelry making and came across your website on handmadeology.com with your beautiful Bead & Wire Earring Tutorial. I love your clear and thorough tutorials which showcase various wire wrapping techniques that can be used to help create our own products. Thanks for taking the time out to teach us and allow us who are starting out permission to sell items made from your designs. I have a feeling that this one will be made into a beautiful earring. 🙂

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Tara! I am very flattered by your beautiful compliments. I love making jewelry and would make more tutorials if they weren’t so much work! I have a few in mind for the near future so stay tuned 🙂

  17. ZarahB says:

    Beautiful. Its elegant in its simpllicity. Next on my to do list this weekend for

  18. Linda Landig says:

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

  19. Maritza Schwindt says:

    Thank you for showing us how to put this together. As soon as I saw this I knew I would have to make it. The combination is beautiful.
    Maritza

  20. teakay says:

    will definetly try my hands on this………lovely piece

  21. Zoraidabros, This pendant is so very beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing it! I am thrilled to have found you and can’t wait to go to the links that you’ve included in this thread. May I possibly have your permission to make these to sell? I love making jewelry and have started making it again. My husband’s company closed in the States to move operations overseas. He’s only been able to replace his job with a part-time one. I opened an Etsy shop that is presently on “vacation” mode while I decide what to change and how to proceed from here, so I can successfully sell handmade jewelry to help us financially. Thank you again.
    Sincerely,
    Lauren

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Lauren for the compliment. Yes it’s fine for you to use my tutorial to make and sell your jewelry. I wouldn’t mind some small credit for the design if possible. I wish you the best of luck with your Etsy shop. I know it’s not easy trying to create an income this way. I’d love to see your shop when you’re ready. Maybe I can pin some items to help promote them. Best of luck to you and your family 🙂

      • Thank you, Zoraidabros, that would be wonderful if you can do that! And absolutely you will be credited for the design. I will be happy to let you know when the shop is back up. I would love for you to see it. I am planning on having it ready again by spring. And hoping that a new look and new items will get this going where it needs to be. Thank you very much for the support. It means a great deal to me. 🙂
        Lauren

Leave a Reply

