New Inspiration from Broken Pendant

The finished pendant

The finished pendant

It’s been a while since I wrote a post here.  Personal  health issues have kept me busy with hospital visits and drained much of my enthusiasm and energies.    While it is  ongoing, I’m feeling better and back with new inspiration. 

I was recently contacted by a customer who asked if I would consider wrapping a broken glass pendant. It was a cherished item from a first Valentine’s Day gift from his/her significant other who was now their wife. 

The original pendant broken at the top

The original pendant broken at the top

I was afraid to wrap it at first since I’d never wrapped anything glass.  I was afraid I’d break it.  It was slippery and curved.  I decided to wrap it in square, copper wire which is also not a shape of wire I’m comfortable with.  

Slippery curves

Slippery curves

I’m glad I did wrap it and they were delighted.  It felt good to be a tiny part of that couples journey . 

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Inspiration from Broken Pendant

  1. Tela says:

    Hi!! Welcome back! I’m glad you are feeling better. I was doing poorly, too and as soon as I started to feel a little better. the muse came right back.

    I love what you did with this glass and the sentiment is so sweet. I know exactly how challenging glass can be, as a former glassblower. Your pendant doesn’t look like you had any trouble, at all.

    I hope you get well stay well…

  2. Shinrin says:

    I missed your blog posts! Great that you’re feeling inspired to create jewelry again 🙂 The wrapping you did looks really AWSOME!!!

  3. Maria says:

    glad to hear you are better , the glass wrap that you did is lovely,,,

  4. Christine says:

    Wow the end result is stunning!!! So happy your back at it, hope your health continues to improve.

  5. Cheryl says:

    I too am glad you are feeling better. The wrapping you did is gorgeous! You are so talented. Stay well.

  6. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks so much, Cheryl !

Leave a comment