Creative Again and a New Pendant

IMG_0647I finally made a new piece of jewelry after what seems like an eternity. I was beginning to think I’d lost all desire to create.  Thanks to my talented daughter, Sam (of http://shinrinart.wordpress.com) I was able to create this dragon pendant.  She drew the dragon, free  hand, on a circle of brass for  me.  I then etched it, riveted it onto a section of copper and made this pendant.

Woke up, it was a hazy morning

Woke up, it was a hazy morning

Our big move to the country has been more of a  change than I anticipated.  The weather here changes dramatically from minute to minute.  We’re quite high up in altitude now and we were actually below sea level before.  The sky is spectacular with stars and clouds like I’ve never seen before.

And the moon – wow,  was it always that big!

Early morning moon

Early morning moon

This is  the road where we walk the dogs everyday

This is the road where we walk the dogs everyday

We’ve had many adjustments and compromises to make.  It’s no wonder I haven’t been really creative.  My computer was damaged in the move thanks to a leak in the U-Haul truck which they refuse to acknowledge (but that’s another battle) and I’m not always able to go online. I can’t afford a new computer right now.

We still have stuff in boxes but I recently found an old sketchbook of mine.  It had some pencil drawings I’d done a long, long time ago – not bad.  I used to like drawing portraits of faces with character.

Old pencil sketches - portrait studies

Old pencil sketches – portrait studies

IMG_0632 IMG_0633 IMG_0634

Perhaps I’m rediscovering crafts/interests that have been dormant for a while.  It’s a slow awakening.  I’m looking for my crochet hooks, color pencils and even brought out my guitar music books.  Who knows what I’ll do next 🙂

IMG_0647

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, events, jewelry, misc, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Creative Again and a New Pendant

  1. Jody Todd says:

    Your Dragon Pendant is awesome! Talant runs in your family I see.
    I know just what you mean about high country living..lived like that for 6 years, and off the grid at that. Had horses and chickens and more. Happiest 6 years of my life. I miss it terribley.
    Keep up the good work…lol, sounds like you’ll have your thumb in a lot of pies 🙂

  2. I so relate. I go for months without making anything. Sorry to hear about your computer. What a drag. I envy you your new location. So beautiful!

    That pendant is wonderful, and your earlier posts inspired me to try etching. I bought everything I need to etch copper. I sat down last week to try some etching, had trouble figuring out how to work with image files. I lost my Adobe Creative Suite when I upgraded my Mac OS. Looked into creating a partitioned hard drive so I could install Adobe. Tried deleting some files to free up hard drive space. I ended up accidentally deleting half my music library. I managed to get all the music back, but four hours later I hadn’t etched a thing, and I gave up! What little inspiration I had that day vanished.

    Funny, I have a guitar but haven’t played it in years. A few days ago I thought of picking it up again. I used to draw with Berol Prismacolor pencils. And I do enjoying crocheting.

    Winter is coming, and you’ll have plenty of warm, cozy days to create more of your beautiful pieces. Sometimes you just need a break.

    • zoraidabros says:

      I hope you’ve tried etching after that experience. We creative people can get into a slump when things we depend on (like electronics) go wrong. I’m not very computer literate and only use the basics. The same with photography so I only use free online photo editing programs. The simple things like color pencils (I also use Prismacolor) and crochet look very appealing right now. At least I don’t have to plug them in. Every now and then I take out my guitar and try to remember some pieces. Of course, playing an instrument is another challenge since it does require constant practice. Looks like we’re on the same page 🙂

      • No, I didn’t try again. I’m starting with PNP paper, and I want to use the whole sheet. It just seems like too much mental effort right now to figure out how to fill the sheet, what size graphics, etc. I can edit photos in Adobe Elements, but since I lost my Adobe Creative Suite, I don’t have a program for editing vector graphics. Maybe PowerPoint will work. Grrrrr.

        I find color pencil to be very difficult. I drew one awesome picture in 1988, and maybe that was all I had in me. Here’s the picture I drew of a white tiger. It took six months, and I almost threw it out when I made a couple mistakes. So glad I didn’t. I’m very proud of this picture.

  3. I wanted to ask you something else. It looks like you have three layers in your pendant. Did you use different inks? Or redraw on it after a time in the etchant? How did you get those layers?

  4. zoraidabros says:

    Wow, that is an awesome illustration!! You are very talented and should get back into it! I’m blown away. There are only 2 layers of metal in this pendant. The recessed areas around the dragon are inked in with black sharpie on the brass layer. That layer is riveted onto a copper piece I cut out with a bail. PNP sounds like a great option for etching. I like the fact that you don’t need chemicals. I may try that someday.

    • Thanks a lot! I’m blown away, too. I can’t believe I drew it.
      Okay, so you had the line drawing, etched it, and then colored in the background with a Sharpie? Very clever.

      The PNP paper just takes the place of the ink. You still need an etchant. I’ve also read that instead of PHP paper, you can just print your art with a laser printer onto a glossy sheet of magazine paper.

      Have you seen this alternative to ferric chloride?

      http://www.instructables.com/id/Stop-using-Ferric-Chloride-etchant!–A-better-etc/

      • zoraidabros says:

        No, I can’t claim to be familiar with any other method (obviously) than the one I’ve been using with ferric chloride. Luckily, I don’t etch that often so I’ve been able to use the same solution for a while. Let me know how it goes 🙂

  5. Tela says:

    Hi Zoraida 🙂 Good to see you back with a beautiful collaborative project. It’s so nice that you have passed your creative genes along to your daughter. I love the dragon and all the details!

    I would be like a fish out of water if I moved to the woods. I have always lived with my toes in the sea, so it would be a very major adjustment for me. I love to visit the mountains here, but I don’t think I could live there. It’s so beautiful, though!

    My shop is back open, but I have found that I am turning down more work than I am selling. My heart is no longer in running a shop and I just know the writing is on the wall. On the plus side, my muse seems to enjoy that eventuality.

    Let’s just see what Winter brings us all. 🙂

    • Tela says:

      Drat! I meant to mention how impressed I am with your sketches! They are really quite good. And your subjects have such character and personality, too.

  6. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks so much Tela! It’s great to hear from you. Yes, my daughter is very talented. I am always in awe of her creativity (proud mama). I understand how you feel about keeping a shop/business. I seem to be going through a phase or stage of where the business end is loosing its’ appeal. I just want to be creative. Perhaps getting older makes me want to do more fulfilling things with my time. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll feel differently tomorrow. I love the mountains even though the weather is so extreme. I like the solitude and space.

  7. Gardi89 says:

    That pendant is gorgeous 🙂 And I would so love to live in countryside, but unfortunately, I’m stuck in town.

Leave a Reply

