I’m in the Country Now

The country side surrounding me

The country side surrounding me

I haven’t written a post for while.  It’s been a little rough concentrating on anything.  We’ve finally moved to our “new” home in the country after many months of setbacks.  Many of my things are still unpacked, my computer was damaged, we had no internet service and so on and so on.

View from the front of my house showing the road I walk everday

View from the front of my house showing the road I walk everday

One the positive side however, the neighborhood is awesome.  We’re high up in the country in a very rural area with beautiful views and town is only about 15 minutes away.

In the town

In the town

I do need to get back to creating jewelry or something but I’ve been so busy with the house and the land it’s on – I’m exhausted!  Soon the colder weather will arrive (hope not too cold) and I’ll be indoors more.

Did I mention my new puppy ?

Did I mention my new puppy ?

I have hummingbirds!  I’d never seen one in a natural environment and now I have Ruby Throated Hummingbirds everywhere.  The Goldfinches are the most golden I’ve ever seen and the House finches  are the most intense shade of red ever!

Female Ruby Throated Hummingbird at our feeder

Female Ruby Throated Hummingbird at our feeder

Oh, and I have these lovely, nosy neighbors

Nosy neighbors

Nosy neighbors

Another view of the surrounding countryside

Another view of the surrounding countryside

I think I need to paint or replace our mailbox

IMG_0269

The sky up here is incredible !  I did manage to get this photo of the “supermoon” on 8/10/14

IMG_0322

Well eventually, I’ll get back to my jewelry making.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, misc, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I’m in the Country Now

  1. Joanne says:

    Beautiful! I’m so happy for you that you found a home in the country. I can’t wait to find my own home. The city wears on me so. And what an adorable puppy.

    You’ll make jewelry when you’re ready. The cold season is perfect for that, and you’ll probably come back with renewed creativity.

    Congrats, my dear!!!

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much, Joanne! It really has been a rough ride but I’m glad to be out of Long Island, NY and up in the mountains. I lived in NYC most of my life and could never stand the city (except to visit).

  2. Joanne says:

    It’ll be interesting to see how your new lifestyle and environment affect your creativity and style.

  3. artworksjp says:

    Beautiful countryside. There is so much inspiration for you. Jan P

  4. Deb says:

    So happy for you. It looks so beautiful and peaceful.

  5. Shinrin says:

    Great photos mom!!! Yay so happy we’re upstate ^_^ Soo much better than Long Island.

  6. Shinrin says:

    Reblogged this on Shinrin Art Blog and commented:
    We finally made our move to the beautiful countryside of upstate New York! Check out my moms post (and her great photography):

  7. Melissa says:

    I knew you were busy moving! But once you get settled, we will have a meetup! And yes,the winter will be cold and lots of snow but so beautiful.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Hi Melissa!
      So great to hear from you. It’s been very difficult for me to get back to my jewelry. Not enough supplies, computer is still not working as of this morning, no money and several orders to fill. Eventually it will get better I’m sure. It is beautiful out here, can’t say I miss LI. I’ll take the cold any day 🙂 We will get together soon I hope.

  8. Linda Taylor says:

    Hey, so so great to hear from you and see ya back on line. So glad you all have finally made it to your new home. Sounds so awesome. Can’t wait to see the new direction your jewelry making takes. I’m at William Holland right now taking Wire II and learning so much.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Hi Linda ! Sounds wonderful. It must be great to be able to take classes there. I’m still having computer issues! Right now I’m using my husbands’ computer which I hate to do. I can’t afford a new one. I have 4 jewelry orders to fill and can’t get around to doing them – damn! I really need to get back to jewelry making but I’m so frustrated with all this. Anyway, have a great time. I look forward to seeing your creations 😀

  9. Maria Rodriguez says:

    Nice to know you are doing well. Please get inspiration from the beautiful colors that surround you…. It should keep you very busy! Happy creating.
    Maria rodriguez.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Maria! It’s time for me to get back to creating for sure. I haven’t made anything in over 2 months and have orders piling up. Got to get my groove back 🙂

Leave a Reply

