How to Make Copper Leaf Earrings

Copper Leaf Earrings
Copper Leaf Earrings
 

These simple earrings were my first attempt at working with copper sheet (36 gauge).  I didn’t think they were good enough to display but I do like the way they turned out, so here they are.

To create them, I cut a section of copper sheet and drew some leaves on it with a regular pen.

I then cut out the leaves with my brand new shears and filed and sanded around the edges to eliminate the sharp edges.

I should have used some kind of glove, but I didn’t have any and was anxious to get started.

I punched holes at the top of each leaf with a small hole punching thing I’ve had for years and used to make holes in coins.

Next, I decided which side of the leaves would be the front, slightly folded them in that direction then reopened them to create a crease down the center.

From the back of the leaves I worked a pencil point to rub between the veins in the leaves to make them puff out and create some texture.

Finally, I twisted the leaves a little at various points to make them look more realistic.

I attached a 20 gauge copper wire about 2″ long with a small loop through the hole in the leaf.

I added a bead for weight and color (the leaf is very light weight which gives them nice movement).

The wire was then shaped to form the earwire, hammered a little, and the ends rounded with a file.

So here they are. I hope someone else likes them too.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, jewelry, tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Make Copper Leaf Earrings

  1. Virginia says:

    I think that the leaf earrings are great looking!

Leave a comment