Inspired to Weave Wire Again

New bracelet with two different weaves and a hinge

New bracelet with two different weaves and a hinge

Other than a particular basket weave bracelet I’ve been making (over and over again due to popular demand), I really haven’t made anything new using wire weave techniques.  But then, why argue with success ?

The original basket weave bracelet I made to order over and over again

The original basket weave bracelet I made to order over and over again

I’ve changed the clasp on this design since but I quickly grew bored with the design.  It was time to try different weaves.

Added a separate clasp to refresh the look

Added a separate clasp to refresh the look

That’s when I came upon Lisa Barth’s book -Timeless Wire Weaving and became inspired.  It’s amazing what you can do with a few simple weave techniques.

Using 4 bronze wires, a simple weave and spiral clasp

Using 4 bronze wires, a simple weave and spiral clasp

IMG_0889 IMG_0910IMG_0701So now I am obsessed with wire weaving again, at least for a while.  I think I’ll go through all my stash of cabs and such to see what I can weave 🙂

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, misc, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Inspired to Weave Wire Again

  1. This book is going on my Christmas list today. Your creations do beautiful justice to her tutorials. I’ve admired her work for a while; seeing your lovelies makes my fingers itch!

  2. I’ve never tried these techniques myself, but it’s fascinating to see how metal comes to look as a soft material. How does it work, do you plan/draw a new design in advance or do you just start and see where it leads you? I really like your designs, it seems that you now have a few new successes to “argue against”!

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you galeriaredelius! I do both. I plan a design in sketch form and figure out how to execute it and at other times, I simply wing it and see what happens. I do love my original basketweave bracelet, it’s just that I’ve had so many custom orders for it in the last 5 years or so. Men in particular love that design 🙂

  3. Tela Formosa says:

    Lovely weaving 🙂 I like to weave, but it hurts my hands real bad to do much of it. Judging by all the gorgeous pieces here, I guess you don’t have that problem. I especially like the wounded warrior coin. 🙂

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much, Tela! Actually my right hand is quite distorted with Arthritis, my left, just a little. I have to take breaks after weaving wire and rest my hands. The wounded warrior was made for Veteran’s Day with proceeds going to the organization but hasn’t sold 😦

      • Tela Formosa says:

        Sorry to hear about your arthritis. I have a bunch of it myself – psoriatic arthritis and osteo. Yes, that is what hurts my hands. When I do weave, I take breaks, but towards the end of a piece it is just so flipping painful. I tend to shy away from intense weaving.

        Sorry, too, that the wounded warrior hasn’t sold. I have faith it will find the right person, though. 🙂

  4. Christina L says:

    Wow! I love your work. Your traditional bracelet is perfect! And I love how you warped the wounded warrior coin. That would be cool to to with an AA coin… 🙂

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much Christina! The warrior coin was a challenge because I didn’t want to cover any important words or the image. I’m hoping it will sell someday as the proceeds will go that that organization. Yes, that bezel wrap would work with any coin.

  5. Angel says:

    The Wounded Warrior Coin is beautiful. I am a big fan of your work. I wanted to ask where you got that coin? The ones I’ve seen are enameled and I want one that is brass like yours. I found one from Harley Davidson that is similar but the words are different. Thanking you in advance, Angel

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Angel! I got the Wounded Warrior Coin at a military stand at a local fair years ago for a small contribution. I was never able to find another just like it. You can find these “challenge” coins online in bronze without enameling if lf you do a search, some are limited and others not very authentic so be careful.

  6. Heidi Kemp says:

    Beautiful Work! I wanted to ask how you shape you bracelets? a round mandrel? an oval mandrel?

    • Shinrin says:

      Hi, I’m happy you like my moms art! She used an oval mandrel for the hammered cuff bracelets. The wire weaved ones (pictured), she made it freehand and used her wrist or my wrist to adjust the bracelets size.

Leave a Reply

