What is it about Celestial Themes ?

A brass "Sun" on a hammered, textured copper circle

A brass “Sun” on a hammered, textured copper circle

What is it about celestial themes that make them so appealing?  They always seem to captivate me.  Perhaps they are reminiscent of many nights spent looking up at the sky and feeling awed by the universe.   Perhaps some ancient memory remembers worshiping the sun.

Spirals, stars and moons on brass and copper

Spirals, stars and moons on brass and copper

Whatever the reason, I don’t think celestial themes will ever fall out of favor (at least for me).  Just like flowers, trees and birds, and all things natural, these will always inspire and form the foundation of my artistic meanderings.

IMG_9454

I have tried a few colder, less organic feeling designs but have not found them satisfying except for themes which are symbolic in nature, like hearts, crosses, swords and shields.  But these things are a real part of the human experience – love, religion, struggles and war, so that is probably why I like them.

IMG_9512

IMG_9086I don’t know why I was thinking of these things today but that is enough contemplating for this Sunday morning.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is it about Celestial Themes ?

  1. Perhaps there is an ancient, ingrained memory we all have because of how the first humans depended so greatly on being able to read the stars: when animals migrated, when to plant, when to travel, what direction to travel, etc. I am also taken with the cosmos and spend at least several minutes every night looking at stars (which is easy to do here since there are rarely clouds). Your celestial themed items are stunning, Zoraida. Just saw you sun pendant on “By Your Hands” and had to follow the link back to read about it. Such an ancient but modern feel to it. Exquisite!

  2. zoraidabros says:

    How wonderful to have an unobstructed view of the night sky. I’m sure I’d lie on my back for hours staring at the sky. When we go to the mountains upstate NY I do just that. Such a humbling experience to see the spirals of the Milky Way and all the stars. I can’t get enough! When we finally move there, I want to have a telescope or a great pair of binoculars. The binoculars will be great for bird watching too 🙂 Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Leave a Reply

