My First Cold Connection with Tabs

Rose quartz cab captured by tabs

Rose quartz cab captured by tabs

This is my first attempt at capturing a cab using tabs instead of wire.  It’s all new to me so of course, it’s not perfect.  Unfortunately, I am impatient with tutorials and classes so I tend to learn new things through trial, error and experimentation.  I probably waste more time and materials this way and it’s a good thing I don’t use expensive metals.  It works for me anyway.

Although I have soldering equipment, I’ve yet to touch it.  I even like to cut metal sheet with shears and avoid using a saw!  Perhaps I have a fear of machinery?

Oh well,  I don’t really have any studio space anyway so I’ve put that aside until I do.  In the meantime, I’ll keep trying to refine my cold connections technique since I’m enjoying the ride anyway.

Here are some new things I’ve recently made using rivets to secure the metal elements together.  Obviously, leaves and flowers  are my favorite motifs.

Etched copper and hammered brass cuff

Etched copper and hammered brass cuff

Etched brass and hammered copper cuff

Etched brass and hammered copper cuff

Special order 4-leaf Clover pedants

Special order 4-leaf Clover pedants

I’m sure at some point I’ll feel restricted by using only cold connections, but not yet.  Perhaps when I’ve exhausted all the possibilities I can come up with I’ll move on to the next level 🙂

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My First Cold Connection with Tabs

  1. Dianna says:

    Lovely work. I love the cab captured with tabs.

  2. Jean says:

    I’ve always enjoyed your jewelry and your experiments, Zoraida! Keep up the great work! No better way to learn than by doing and you can usually re-use, recycle materials if needed. Love the cab with the tabs and the four leaf clovers. I struggle wearing things on my arms, though. But I do love the motif work. Keep it up! Can’t wait to see what’s next… ♥

  3. Beautiful as always Zoraida! Your work always inspires me to try new things as well question on the tabbed can. Did you use glue to secure the cab as well?
    Bobbi helms
    Fat dog beads

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Bobbi! No glue was used anywhere. The cab is held in place by the tabs only. The pendant is made of 2 separate metal components that were cut from sheet. One section was the base (marquis shape) and the other shape included tabs in the design. These were then riveted together and the tabs folded over the stone. The bail was also cut separately and riveted to the base section.

  4. Shinrin says:

    Awesome! I think it’s even more creative doing cold connections than using machines and torches. There’s always more then one way to get the desired result.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much Shinrin! I know you understand the many ways artists use to create the desired effect. You’re such a fantastic, self taught artist yourself!

  5. Janice Plasterer says:

    Zoraida the tabs look like fun! I also love the clover pendants. I was thinking that one of the pendants would look good in a green wax or patina. Jan P

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks, Janice. I agree. A green patina would look great on the pendant. These were a custom order and the customer wanted one in brass and the other in copper, both with contrasting bails. Otherwise, I probably would have tried a green patina 🙂

Leave a Reply

