What I’ve been up to

I’ve been so busy over the last few weeks, I haven’t had time to post anything.  I keep getting orders for my Basket Weave Bracelet.  I’m almost tired of it by now and want to retire that design, but that would be silly since people have responded to it so well.

Here is the basket weave bracelet in oxidized copper

Here is the basket weave bracelet in oxidized copper

This one in sterling silver was for my daughter, Sam

This one in sterling silver was for my daughter, Sam

I also made some special order earrings for a wonderful (repeat) customer.IMG_8231

Turquoise bead and wire knot copper earrings

Turquoise bead and wire knot copper earrings

I cut some brass sheet into this heart shape, drew the leaves, etched and made this pendant I don’t know what to do with yet.

Etched brass heart shape leaf pendant

Etched brass heart shape leaf pendant

When silver prices dropped recently I splurged (a little) and bought some wire.

Sterling silver and yellow Quartzite earrings

Sterling silver and yellow Quartzite earrings

I hadn’t made a birds’ nest in a while so I made this necklace.  The nest and neck wire are bronze, the “eggs” and scrolled wire are sterling.

Bronze nest with sterling eggs on a bronze neck wire

Bronze nest with sterling eggs on a bronze neck wire

These etched earrings were made to match the bracelet for Carole –

Etched copper earrings

Etched copper earrings

I’ve probably made a few other things I’ve forgotten about.

It’s been hectic here at home.  We’ve been traveling back and forth from Long Island NY to upstate NY where we hope to move. With our camper, that was about 275 miles each way.  Going up and down those mountains can be scary :O  We were hoping to build a log home but there is so much to do when you start from scratch that we may just buy a small, inexpensive home near our lot.  Eventually, we will build our dream log house!!!

Our beautiful piece of the earth with no driveway, electric, septic,well or house

Our beautiful piece of the earth with no driveway, electric, septic,well or house

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What I’ve been up to

  1. Your jewelry are very beautiful.
    Irene

  2. Shinrin says:

    Great post and photos! Beautiful land isn’t it? I love the silver basket weave 😉

  3. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks so much Sam! Yes, I love those 7.35 acres 😀

  4. Judy Johnson says:

    I love your Basket Weave Bracelet. I can imagine getting sick of making it, over and over but it sure is beautiful

  5. Jeannie says:

    I really hope you will pattern your basket weave bracelet! Love your designs…If I wasn’t so busy trying to fix up a house that we just bought, I’d be buying some things! We just came off the road after full timing in a motorhome for three years. Miss the traveling. Hope you get your log house some day. That was my dream, but real life interfered, and here I am in Bradenton, FL in a home with a pool instead. 🙂 And it’s 90’s every day…my better half got to have his dream instead. 🙂

  6. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Jeannie ! It’s nice that you have a new home after living in a motorhome for all that time. I don’t think I could live in one for more than a week. My dogs would drive me crazy and I have too much junk! 90 degrees is way too hot for me, even 80’s is pushing it. I hope you’re enjoying the pool though.

  7. Diane says:

    Hi Zoraida. I love your work. I’m not sure if by “patten” you meant pattern, which I’m sure many people would find helpful, or patent, which wouldn’t work. First of all, the basket weaves have been around for thousands of years, and secondly, many jewelry artists, me included, already use this and other weave pattern regularly. Didn’t mean to correct a typo! But if you did indeed want to patent it, I thought you should know.

  8. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks for that correction, Diane. It was meant to say “pattern” as in “tutorial”, but I removed it altogether anyway so as to avoid confusion. The tutorial would have been for the entire bracelet, not just the weaving pattern which I know I didn’t invent. In any case, I’ll save that for the future, too busy right now.

    • Diane says:

      Your welcome. And since it would be the whole bracelet design, I know I, too would love it. I would actually love to have some tutorials by you and how you do such beautiful, unique clasps!

  9. Zoraida,
    Send me a private message over on Facebook (Diana Mockingbird) I’d love to know where you’ll be in Upstate NY, as I also live Upstate. The only issue is that there is a good deal of NY that folks from your area refer to as Upstate, ranging from far Western NY (Buffalo) up and over to Watertown, across to Albany and all the spots in between. If we aren’t too far from one another, I’d love to meet you in person.
    Lady M

    • zoraidabros says:

      Hi Diana! I’d love to meet you!! We’re trying really hard to get out of Long Island and build on our lot upstate but not having any luck. I left you a message on Facebook.

  10. Pingback: Thank you Melanie!! | Art-Z Jewelry

Leave a Reply

