My first real cold connection with rivets

IMG_7368

I’ve been wire wrapping, in my own fashion, for a long time.  I do love wire  and wrapped jewelry in all styles from the more traditional techniques with square wire to the free, loose, messy wraps.  It’s all good.  I believe Dale Cougar Armstrong said that wire wrapping was the first cold connection and of course, she’s right.

I  also love metal work and have been obsessed with it lately.  There’ something so basic about it and simple shapes can have such impact.  So ever since I won that giveaway which included several sheets of 24ga copper sheet, I can’t keep away from it.

By now, I’ve made leaves of different types, flowers and stamped jewelry (another new obsession).  So now I have to learn to rivet or solder in order to connect the different layers of metal  and even though I have the tools and equipment for soldering, I’m still putting off playing with fire.

So riveting it is!  I started with my own spiral wire rivet where I spiraled both sides of the metal pieces hoping they would stay tight and not spin around too much like  this bracelet and some rings and earrings.

Spiral connection

Spiral connection

Sometimes, however, I want a clean, simple cold connection and I finally did it!!  I did my first, real cold connection with rivets – Yay!

Flower with bail riveted on the back

Flower with bail riveted on the back

IMG_7362

I will have to give in someday and play with fire – I want to learn to enamel!!!

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, misc, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My first real cold connection with rivets

  1. It feels great to tackle a new skill, doesn’t it! And what a wonderful job you’ve done. I learned to make cold connections and solder in Deryn Mentock’s Of Towers and Turretts class. That was my first exposure to soldering (with lead-free plumbers solder). Kate Richbourg has a soldering tutorial with videos on Craftsy (http://www.craftsy.com/class/metalsmithing-at-home/131). It’s only $40 but they frequently have sales (I got it for $20). She also has a free microtorch basics video there. Although I haven’t started the videos, it’s a different method with traditional jeweler’s methods. It’s definitely worth checking it out. And before you know it, you’ll be comfortable with a flame and ready to try enameling. (I enamel, too. Taught by Barbara Lewis herself!)

  2. zoraidabros says:

    Hi Barbara! Thanks so much for reading my post. I actually own that soldering class on Craftsy. It’s great. I love learning new techniques and things in general and have always taught myself through trial and error. Eventually I’ll get through my list, one by one. I have Barbara Lewis’s book on my Amazon Wish list too. Maybe Mothers ‘Day will bring it to me 🙂 By the way, your work is lovely!! I checked out your blog and Artfire shop – beautiful!

  3. Really like this piece! One day I will take a leap of faith and learn how to solder. Thanks for FYI Cynthia for the tutorial on Craftsy…when I get a little extra $$ I will purchase the Metalsmithing at home.

Leave a Reply

