Simple earrings – the hard way

These earrings are so simple looking.  You’d think I’d whipped them up in a few minutes.  But no, not me.  I have to do things the hard way.

IMG_7249

Of course I could have purchased bead caps and stamped ones at that!  I could have bought ear wires and headpins too.  But I have to try making it all myself just to know I can.   I did buy the the lampwork beads though, I’m not up to that, yet.

So I cut some 16ga copper wire and hammered the ends into a paddle shape for the headpins.  I cut, filed, punctured, stamped. domed and oxidized bead caps.  I even cut, shaped, hammered and oxidized these ear wires with a hook to secure them.  Assembling the earrings was the easiest part.  Finally, I sealed them with Renaissance Wax.

Simple looking, I know.  Who would think I put so much work into them.  After all, that’s why I bought all these tools I accumulating – letter and design stamps, doming/dapping block set, disk cutter, hammers, etc. etc.

IMG_7250

I may try to reinvent the wheel yet.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Simple earrings – the hard way

  1. I suspect you’ll create the lampwork beads (those are gorgeous, BTW) before you reinvent the wheel. 🙂

  2. Karen Meador says:

    I think simple earrings the hard way were worth the trouble. (especially if you got better acquainted with your tools!

  3. carlaburke says:

    Zoraida, these may be simply designed, but they are well designed, and simply elegant. I love them, & like you, I have this odd need to know that ‘I can do it!’. Congrats on your new skills – I hope to be not too far behind you, in that. 😀

  4. Marchia says:

    Just to say that I can understand “doing it the hard way” because these are a beautiful pair of earrings and that the beauty is in the simplicity of the design and then there’s such satisfaction in your skill set and in the whole process.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks Marchia 🙂 Sometimes simple is the way to go, especially when you want to feature just one element (like the bead). I didn’t want it to get get lost in a complicated design.

  5. Linda Sinish says:

    These earrings are lovely. They simply wouldn’t be close to this gorgeous if you had used the pre-made components. I love that you used Ren wax to the patina stable.

  6. Stunning earrings, Zoraida! You have more than nudged me into doing some of my own metal work – just bought a beginner’s book last night. Now to buy the tools I don’t have (: You have been an inspiration!

  7. Linda C Taylor says:

    Beautiful as usual..oh and tools??? What jewelry making person doesn’t crave tools??? I’ve now got a dremel and haven’t even used it, just couldn’t help myself it was so reasonable.

    Linda C
    Linda C’s Creations

Leave a Reply

