Disk Cutter, Circles, Metal Work and Jewelry

IMG_7051

I recently purchased a disk cutter and I’m loving cutting out those circles!  (“Happiness runs in a circular motion…”  for any of you who remember Donovan).

IMG_7016

I actually I bought two but had to return a damaged one – that’s another story (I won’t bad mouth that vendor yet.  Let’s see how quickly they refund my money).

Anyway, I never realized how many useful, wonderful and creative  things I can do with this thing.  Even my daughter uses it for stamping tags for her business.  It’s awesome!

One of Sam's websites for her original Manga series

One of Sam’s websites for her original Manga series

I’ve made earrings, a bracelet and a ring so far.

IMG_7013IMG_7018

I’ve always loved metal work of all kinds from garden sculptures to jewelry and ideas are forming in my head as I write – stamped jewelry perhaps?  Oh, I didn’t mention I also bought some letter and design stamps.  How I love tools!!

IMG_7044IMG_7062

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Disk Cutter, Circles, Metal Work and Jewelry

  1. Dianna says:

    Wow Zoraida what great work you’ve done with that cutter. You’ve inspired me by your lovely posts! Was that circle cutter expensive?

  2. fatdogbeads says:

    Your work is extraordinary! thanks for sharing!
    Bobbi

  3. Catherine O says:

    Very nice!! I would love to have a disc cutter too. Well done !!

  4. carlaburke says:

    I love these, Zoraida! I’m glad to see you are having fun – and that you are sharing your beautiful work with us!

  5. Diane says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your new toy and the lovely things you have made with it so far. I can’t wait to see where you take it next. Keep us posted!

  6. Barbara says:

    What kind of tool did you use to make the flower on the cuff? I’ve been looking for a hammer to make straight strikes, but even the rivet hammers seem to big.

  7. Ingra says:

    You do such great work! I’ve always been somewhat intimidated by working with metal but I might just give it a try! @ Dianna, Michaels also honors coupons from Hobby Lobby & JoAnn.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Ingra! You will love working with metal. It’s best to start with soft metal like copper in gauges below 24ga so you don’t get frustrated at first.

  8. Pingback: Pet Themed Copper Charms and Pendants | Muku Pet Art

  9. BoHoChick says:

    I got here by clicking on the link from your main blog page..fascinated by every word along the way. The area you moved to is gorgeous. We owned land in upstate N.Y. for a while and it is my ”happy place” and always will be. One thing stood out that I feel I must comment on…your mailbox! Please don’t paint or replace it…it is perfect as is… perhaps simply adorn it with some of your awesome metal works? Now that would be cool! Keep your metal magic coming..

Leave a Reply

