My New Bracelet Creations

Lately, I find myself making one bracelet after another.  From simple, hammered wire bangles to Viking Knit weave and beaded cuffs.  Bracelets, like earrings, are a jewelry accessory I can’t seem to be without.  I have three sterling silver cuffs on my right wrist that haven’t come off in over 30 years!

So for the time being I’ll just keep indulging myself making bracelets.  At some point I suppose the obsession will end and I’ll start making something else.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My New Bracelet Creations

  1. Would you mind sharing how you put together that slide show? Software, etc.?

    I’m struggling to make just one necklace right now. I feel so inept. I tried making a fancy bail, inspired by your work, but gave up in frustration. I have a LOT to learn!

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks Nelson Jewelry & Gemstones (what is your name, please?) The slide show is one of the features on WordPress sites – otherwise, I wouldn’t know how to create them. Don’t give up on your bail. Wire work takes practice.

      • My name is Joanne. I did give up on the bail, but maybe I’ll try it again tonight with fresh energy. I just really admire folks like you who can crank out multiple pieces, each one unique and beautiful. But the only way I’ll get good is to just keep working at it.

  2. Dianna says:

    Zoraida,
    Love your bracelets. You have been busy at work I can see. I especially like the 5 bangle copper one. Looks like a lot of fun to wear. Keep em comin!

  3. Diane Smith says:

    Beautiful work, Zoraida! Each and every one of your bracelets is a work of art!

  4. Donna Geurin says:

    I love your bracelets. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Rose says:

    Those are beautiful! I would love to see you do a tutorial for basic wire wrapping. I recently received a large jasper pendant as a gift and have scrapped a lot of wire while attempting to wrap it 🙂
    Rose

  6. Zoraida Bros says:

    Thank you, Rose. One thing I haven’t done much of is basic wire wrapping for a cab. I still have a lot to learn in that area. You can get some good tutorials online. Many are free. You might enjoy http://www.blog.telaformosa.com. She does beautiful wrapping!

  7. Kashmira says:

    These are FABULOUS!

  8. Sally says:

    Hi Zoraida … wish I could teleport myself to your studio and take some lessons. 🙂 I began doing some wire work during a summer course. Fell in love with it. But more guidance is needed! Also am beginning to acquire more tools (one can never have enough!). Your work is inspiring!

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much Sally! If you were to transport yourself over to my “studio”, you’d find yourself in a chaotic mess of beads, wire and tools. I don’t have a studio and work on my kitchen table or sofa (someday perhaps, I will). I really appreciate the compliment though. I agree, you can’t have enough tools and wire work is addictive. 😀

  9. charminglou says:

    I have just discovered you and I love your work, it’s just so beautiful and now I feel inspired to carry on making. Just a quick question, when you flatten the wire how do you stop the hammer leaving marks? Mine always leaves tiny indentations. Thanks, and I’m so jealous 😉
    Louise.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you, Louise. Actually some of these do have texture on the wires deliberately. The smooth wires you see have been hammered on the opposite side (inside) before curving and attaching. This gives the wire a smooth, satin-like look I love. Any small dents or scratches are filed away with a jewelry file, rubbed with fine #0000 steel wool, sealed with Renaissance Wax and buffed with a soft cloth. Also, make sure to use a chasing hammer, not hit it very hard and hammer in a sweeping motion out towards the outside of the piece. Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

