Storm Inspired Jewelry

After the Storm Clear Quartz necklace

While sitting out hurricane Sandy, under several candles and an occasional flashlight, I made this necklace.  It wasn’t until I attached the tiny spiral on top of the pendant that I realized this piece was sort of symbolic for me.  The clear stone pendant reminds me of a huge drop of water with tiny inclusions.  The spiral – a tiny storm brewing and  the tiny links of the chain, perhaps like those attached to an anchor.

I’m probably seeing too much into this design but who knows?  Perhaps I was seeing the calm after the storm or at least, anticipating it.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Storm Inspired Jewelry

  1. Tela Formosa says:

    Very pretty! I was hoping to see something you did while waiting out the storm. I can see lots of symbolism in this, both of the storm and optimism. I clearly see the drop being the water from the storm and the bail as blowing wind. The chain seems like an anchor or tether to me. But, because of the pristine clear beads and light airiness of the piece, it seems rather hopeful to me.

    I love this piece, in fact, it may be a favorite of one of yours. I especially love the bail element. 🙂

  2. Zoraida Bros says:

    Thanks so much, Tela! You’ve put so much thought into your response, I’m truly flattered. I hadn’t even thought of the wind aspect of the bail although the wind was the scariest part of the storm. You clearly see through the eyes of an artist.

  3. Janice Plasterer says:

    I love this. You can wear this with everything and all year! Good job! JP

  4. Diane Smith says:

    Beautiful analogy. Beautiful necklace & earrings! So happy your family stayed safe through the storm.

Leave a Reply

