Wirework Magazine Friends and Facebook

About a week ago, I got an email from Wireowrk Magazine saying they would like to feature one of my necklaces in their Spring 2013 issue.  I don’t remember ever submitting an entry and could find no email or other correspondence relating to that, but I was thrilled.

The original, sold, necklace

After looking at the photo in the email,, I realized that necklace had been sold quite a while ago.  Now what?  I was a little bummed out but ready to let it go as one of those missed opportunities.  It had, after all, come out of the blue. I would have held onto that necklace had I known.

Apparently my friends on Facebook are smarter than me.  They felt this was a bigger deal than I did and flooded me with suggestions.  who says you can’t make real friends on Facebook!

I decided to make another, very similar necklace, send them the photo and hope they would accept that one instead.  They did!

New necklace submitted to Wirework Magazine

So now I had to make yet another necklace in order to take step by step photos of the process and write precise and clear instructions.  Wow, that was a lot of work!  I admire artists who write tutorials frequently and those who actually sell them, charge so little.

The necklace made for the tutorial

So now I’ve created three similar necklaces (and I usually never make more than one of each design).

If all goes well, my necklace will appear in the Spring 2013 issue of Wirework Magazine – if the world doesn’t end before then.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, misc, tutorials, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wirework Magazine Friends and Facebook

  1. Those are all so beautiful. Wonderful color combinations, lovely wire work, great beads and pendants. Congratulations on being asked to submit to Wirework Magazine. You deserve it.

  2. Kathy says:

    Beautiful! I love your work!

  3. carlaburke says:

    Pinned! Congratulations, Zoraida! That if fabulous news! (I’d ‘friend’ you on fb, but for some reason, my tablet & phone both refuse to let me do anything but read, there.) The only thing I find surprizing about your work being featured in Wirework, is that it has taken them so long to do it!
    Can’t wait to see it!

  4. Zoraida Bros says:

    Thanks so much Carla. Your support is awesome! I submitted the photos and instructions so hopefully there will be little editing from there.

  5. Linda C Taylor says:

    Glad to hear you’re not letting this opportunity slip by you…they’re all beautiful necklaces and I can’t wait to buy the issue of Wirework…

    Linda C
    Linda C’s Creations

  6. Tela Formosa says:

    Oooooo, lovely as usual! So glad you didn’t give up. 🙂 Now you will see your gorgeous piece in print. But, this isn’t the first time is it? Good for you, girl!!!

    I’m off to our gemshow today, I’ll be thinking of you. 🙂

  7. Donetta says:

    Zoraida, your work is exquisite. So thrilling that Wirework will be featuring a beautiful piece of jewelry from you…I can’t wait to buy a copy of that issue! (Do you have insider knowledge about the end of the world? Should I stop paying my bills?)

  8. Zoraida Bros says:

    Thanks so much, Donetta! Unfortunately, I don’t have inside info about the end of the world so I’m still paying my bills – just in case we’re all still here after Dec 21, 2012.

  9. Janice Plasterer says:

    Zoraida, I remember this picture of your necklace on Copper Wire Works and I loved it! JP

  10. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you Janice Plasterer! What is Copper Wire Works? I’m not familiar with it.

  11. zoraidabros says:

    Janice, sorry I should have thought of that. I am a member of CWJ although I haven’t posted in a while.

    • Janice Plasterer says:

      Thanks that’s okay. I haven’t posted in awhile also. I do want to say Congrats on the up coming article you will be doing. I can’t wait to see it! JP

  12. Monisola Esther says:

    It is amazing,keep it up, we are expecting new style soon

Leave a Reply

