Back to Bracelets

Spiraled, coiled, copper and brass cuff. Heavy, tribal looking and somewhat rustic – just my style!

I’m taking a break from wrapping cabs and making pendants. I’m not sure what to do with them right now since I prefer to make something complete and ready to wear.  I get bored easily if I do the same type of thing repeatedly so I have to make a switch now and then.  I’ll get back to them eventually refreshed and with renewed interest.

Going back to making bracelets started when someone asked if I could sort of duplicate a bracelet which had belonged to her grandmother.  It was damaged -a link had fallen off.  I probably could have fixed it but was actually afraid to handle it.  The lady “Jean” seemed hesitant to handle it herself and it obviously meant a great deal to her.  A photo was taken of it, indoors, in very bad lighting with an ipod instead.  This really bad image and a faint memory of the bracelet was all I had to go by.

See the missing link in this terrible photo?

I did my best cutting and shaping copper sheet for the leaves and attaching them to the copper spirals.  The spirals were then attached to a brass frame.  I don’t solder (yet) so I had to wire wrap everything.  She likes it!!!  I’m happy.

My newly created “duplicate” of the bracelet with wired on copper sheet leaves.

A new bracelet with a copper “feather” with patina and wired on to a frame.

A wide Viking Knit bracelet with stainless steel and bronze for my daughter.

Hammered, textured, oxidized copper cuff with silver Gilders’ paste and a pattern.

Sterling bead, stainless steel and copper bracelet

Maybe I’ll go back to wire wrapping cabs now….or maybe make some earrings or a necklace – ?

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, misc, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back to Bracelets

  1. julia christine stephen says:

    I love the ones that have leaves…LOVE the patina…great job. 🙂

  2. Monsita Davis says:

    You did an excellent job duplicating the grandmother’s bracelet

  3. ALL of your handmade jewelry is gorgeous! You are an amazing artist!

  4. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks so much, Diane, you’re a great friend and supporter!!

  5. Dianna says:

    Very creative. Looking at the original, I don’t think that a better job could have been done! More bracelets.

  6. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you Dianna! I love bracelets and can’t imagine not wearing one, or two, or three….

  7. I love your designs. Everything you make is beautiful. Love the cuff with the glider’s paste. I been wanting to get some to try. Love the copper feather and the copper leafs on the brass frame. Very nice work! I don’t solder either, but I been wanting to learn. It’s on my list of things to do. Don’t think I will every be able to do it all, even if I was 20 again (-;

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much for checking out my blog!! Love hearing from you. The Gilder’s paste is fun to use, so many colors to play with. I have a long to do list as well and even in my 60’s I still have a lot to learn.

Leave a Reply

