This handcrafted pendant is close to my heart. It is an image of our beloved late pet, Juno drawn by my daughter, Sam Bros of http://shinrinart.wordpress.com and encased in glass as a pendant. When I look into it, I can actually see Juno standing before me. It’s a wonderful and beautifully illustrated tribute to our late dog.

Shinrin Art Blog

I just made my first piece of jewelry! It’s a very special and personal piece. This glass cabochon pendant contains my original artwork of my late dog Juno. I’m very proud of it! These are the steps I took to create it:

I used this photo I took of him standing in our driveway for reference…

I did a sketch on a ACEO card…

I redrew it again by tracing the sketch on another ACEO card, inking it in with manga pens…

I redrew it a third time on another ACEO card; coloured it with plain old markers; inked in the eyes, nose, lips and cheek fluff to make it “pop” more. Then scanned it into the computer, re-sized it in Adobe Photoshop to fit within the bezel setting and printed it on heavy card stock.

I put Diamond Glaze on the glass dome cabochon, placed it on the…

View original post 124 more words

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, jewelry, Manga, tutorials, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Tela Formosa says:

    What a beautiful tribute 🙂 It looks so professional (not that it isn’t, but, you know what I mean). Your daughter is very talented and you must be very proud. I’m sorry about Juno. Our pets are so special to us. Now he beautifully memorialized by one of the family.

  2. Dianna says:

    What a wonderful treasure. Now he will always be with you!

  3. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you, Dianna:)) As anyone who has ever loved a pet knows, they are never forgotten. This is the spitting image of Juno.

Leave a Reply

