My Show at the Gem & Mineral Fair

My table before the complete set up. I added another lamp later.

This past Saturday and Sunday I participated in one of my favorite events – a gem, mineral, fossil and jewelry show similar to my earlier gem and mineral show this past June.

We drove about 40 miles to Mattituck, NY  to set up on Friday afternoon, back home, out again Saturday morning, home, back again Sunday and home again after dismantling everything.  Those six trips and the intense heat were exhausting!

I was by myself most of the time so it was hectic when tending to customers, not to mention bathroom visits and trying to eat and drink something.  I barely had time to  shop for stones and beads.  I’m still tired!

Nevertheless, it was worth all the work.  I sold almost half of my inventory and I’m still filling special orders as well as sales through my online shops generated through my business cards, contacts and wonderful conversations.

My shops on Artfire and Zibbet are sadly empty as a result.  I haven’t had the time or energy to make anything new.  I’m already missing some of those jewelry pieces too – have to get over that.

I just received an email from a customer who purchased one of my favorite necklaces  (Dragon’s Blood on a Chain) online after having seen it at the show. He also bought a bracelet for himself and is ordering another for his father.   Here’s what he said –

“I received the necklace today and it is amazing! From the chain all
the way to how the stone is set. I really look forward to seeing my
friends face when she gets this.
Thank you once again,
Nicholas”

My Dragon’s Blood on a Chain Necklace

These simple words of appreciation for my craft make it all worthwhile!  I’m ready to do it again.

A special order from a customer using her own beads. I also made a second pair of earrings with the same beads.

Stones and beads

The only small purchase I was able to make – no time!

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Show at the Gem & Mineral Fair

  1. Despite you being tired out (shows are HARD work), I’m so excited for you that you sold so much! Congratulations! Am hoping the Muses get a jump start and you will be creating soon (:

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much Catherine. Right now sales are great. Just sold a pair of earrings tonight and a new bracelet order. Funny how things seem to happen in clusters. I’d better enjoy the ride.

  2. beadinggem says:

    Your table and designs just look awesome!

  3. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you Pearl!!! I’m so used to cramming my jewelry onto a 6 ft table at some shows that when I unexpectedly received over 10 feet of space I thought it looked empty.

  4. Diane says:

    Love your display space! The extra space makes way for customers to have the opportunity to see each piece clearly. Plus, as you sell out and explain why your table is low on inventory they will make sure to get to your table first next year. ^_^

    Congrats on your super-successful show. It’s icing on the cake when you receive such wonderful comments from your customers!

  5. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Diane. Everything worked out very well and I’m happy right now. I’m also one of those people who’s always waiting for the other shoe to drop so I’m preparing for down time as well.

  6. Tela says:

    Beautiful set up. It’s so colorful and full, yet not too crowded. I love your pieces!

    Sounds like you are doing really well! Awesome! Just too bad you couldn’t do more shopping with all that fresh money. 🙂

  7. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you Tela! I’ll have to shop for stones later this month when I have another gem & mineral show. I’ve already picked out my vendors. Can’t wait.

  8. That’s really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

