Lapiz Pendant Becomes a Necklace

I don’t always plan a design.  Sometimes a piece of jewelry just designs itself as if it knew what it wanted to be.  I only need to be open and receptive to make it happen.  This could take a few hours or a few days.  I don’t stop working on it until it feels right.

That is just what happened with this necklace. It was originally going to be a pendant but, even as a pendant, it went through several evolutions.

This was the first stage

Image

Then it grew these curves

Image

Still not content, a hanger formed

Image

It needed something.  Some contrasting color or a chain began to manifest and finally became a necklace

Image

This whole process took about 3 days.  Sometimes it just happens that way.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lapiz Pendant Becomes a Necklace

  1. This necklace is really, really beautiful!

  2. Dianna says:

    Lots and lots of work but the end result was worth it. Very pretty!

  3. julia christine stephen says:

    Very Pretty, love the colors 🙂

  4. Paola says:

    This is gorgeous! I have always loved lapis lazulis, and I think they are the most underrated stones ever. I also love your choice of color on the chain!

  5. susangeckle says:

    I love it when pieces of art design themselves. You just have to hang on and enjoy the ride. This piece is lovely!

  6. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks so much Susan. As an artist yourself, you know how that can happen. Sometimes we are only the vehicles through which art expresses itself.

  7. I love seeing the creative process behind the design! I can also relate to a design going in unexpected directions–sometimes you just have to let it happen! I like the contrast of colors and love the way the pendant is finished…

Leave a Reply

