What’s in a name and Why I’m Changing My url

I was about to post an image of my latest necklace on my website at http://art-zjewelry.com and accidentally omitted the dash between art and z.  I found myself looking at an unfamiliar page with jewelry unlike mine.  It looked incomplete, like a holding page.

What does this mean, I asked myself confused, annoyed and a little shaken.  I’m quite challenged when it comes to computers and technology in general so I just sat there bewildered for a few seconds.

I needed to consult my daughter for an explanation and was hesitant to ask for her help – again!  She was really only a few feet away but I knew she was working  on her own websites, blogs, art and things and would probably feel annoyed at the interruption by her technologically dysfunctional mom.

Finally, I let out an apologetic, whiny “Sam, can you help me a minute?”.  Of course she responded and without even looking at my computer asked if I’d typed the url in correctly.

Apparently someone else had the same name without the dash.  I’m not sure what that page was.  It was purchased through Go Daddy, possibly after I had purchased mine and didn’t have any real content other than an introduction .   In any case, that url was way too close to mine and I didn’t like that.

If I could leave out that critical dash, then anyone looking for my site could do the same and end up on that mystery page!

I immediately went over to Go Daddy to purchase another domain name – my name.  I’d like to think there are no other Zoraida’s out there but there probably are.  I purchased the name “zoraidajewelry.com”. Hopefully no one else will buy some variation on that one.  It will replace “art-zjewelry.com” as soon as I copy everything over and publish it.

So my website will remain as http://art-zjewelry.com for the time being and here is the photo that started the whole name change.

My new necklace

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, events, jewelry, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s in a name and Why I’m Changing My url

  1. Donna Geurin says:

    I like the new name, it defines you better.

  2. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Donna, it can’t be more definitive than that although I do like Art-Z Jewelry and still own that domain.

  3. Dianna says:

    I also like Art-Z jewelry but what could be better than your beautiful own name? Love it!

  4. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you Dianna! I can’t take credit for the name.

  5. Diane says:

    I like your Art-Z name but also think your new domain name is great! Good luck changing over your website. I’m still in the middle of doing mine.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks Diane. I’m just going to cut & paste all the text onto the new http://zoraidajewelry.com. I’ll save all the photos to a folder on my desktop and take them from there to insert into the new site. Then I just have to go over to Go Daddy and direct my new domain to my new site. It’s easy, just time consuming. Luckily Weebly allows me 2 free sites (10 sites with a paid account, like Sam’s) It shouldn’t take more thank one day.

  6. susangeckle says:

    Beautiful website and jewelry. What a treasure!

Leave a Reply

