The Cross as Jewelry

I’ve never worn a cross and am not especially religious in any orthodox way.   I was brought up in a traditional, Christian household, went to church and participated in all the standard Catholic practices for the first 18 years or so of my life.

I’ve noticed that many people who don’t necessarily wear jewelry, often wear a cross. This always fascinated me. I’m not one to challenge or judge anyone’s beliefs, I’m just intrigued by  the powerful symbolism contained within  that cross.  This incredibly simple design is so  powerful that two crisscrossing lines alone summon an entire image along with all the world history connected to it.

I suppose the same can be said about most, if not all, symbols. That, of course, is their purpose – just think of logos and avatars.

But getting back to the cross –  I’ve often attempted to create a cross that I might like enough to wear myself, if I were so inclined.   So with that in mind and the fact that I prefer jewelry and other artistic creations that look old,  I made a few cross pendants.

Perhaps because Easter is approaching or “The End of Times” is daily news, or maybe I’m just getting old,  I actually found these crosses appealing.

The first one was a little sloppy but not bad.  The second cross was better.  I listed it in my Artfire shop and it sold in less than 15 minutes (That was a record for me and what does that mean?)  The third cross is simpler, and smaller in design.

So what do you think?  Do you wear a cross?

The first cross, just a little sloppy.

The second, sold immediately, cross. Much neater.

The third, smaller, simpler cross

My latest cross

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, jewelry, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Cross as Jewelry

  1. Tela says:

    Congratulations on the quick sale! I guess that tells you something about crosses. 🙂 I don’t wear one. I do, however, respect them as a declaration of faith. When I see someone wearing one, I immediately assume it to be a symbol and not just jewelry, if you know what I mean. But, that’s just me.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks for your comment, Tela. I also assume the cross is worn as a symbol of one’s faith and not just jewelry. There are probably thousands of jewelry designs that utilize that image and people who collect crosses for their artistic value as well as a statement of their beliefs.

  2. Donna Geurin says:

    I would also wear a small cross. Being brought up in a Methodist household whose mother was the church secretary, I married a Baptist. I love your design more than any other I have seen. An elegant but with a statement design. Congratulations on the quick sale. Amazing.

  3. I love all of the crosses you’ve created. Looks like you might have yourself a new line of jewelry here! Kudos & congrats on your quick sale! ^_^

  4. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Diane! It’s a new and quite meaningful experience aside from the “business” end of it.

  5. I was brought up Catholic but follow my inner brand of spiritualism now so don’t wear a cross. But I do respect any religious symbol. Have sold LOTS of cross designs in my jewelry making career. One thing that intrigues me is that many styles of crosses actually have a name and a history – it was fun learning about that. Your crosses are beautiful, Zoraida, and if I wore one, it would be one of yours.

  6. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks so much for your comments, Catherine. I am with you on following your own spiritual path. Yes, I too find it interesting that different cross designs have their own history which adds to the richness of its’ symbolism. I love symbols of all kinds and find them somehow magical.

  7. Shinrin says:

    I don’t wear crosses, but I like it when it’s a creative and artistic design – like yours!

  8. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you Shinrin. I like creative & artistic designs in everything!

  9. cbdesigns says:

    Absolutely Gorgeous!

  10. Katherine says:

    These are totally cool!!!As both a jewelry artist and a practicing Episcopalian, I looked far and wide to find a Crucifix that reflected both my faith and style.

Leave a Reply

