Not Making Jewelry? Play Drums!

I can’t always be making jewelry, who can?  Aside from the everyday, mundane things we all must do, there are other enjoyable and/or creative diversions that call out to us.

I have to admit that I don’t do half the things I used to, like bicycle tours or martial arts.  I am getting older after all and not as physically energetic.  Oh well, there are still a lot of things left.  I can still take nature walks, garden, artwork (drawing, painting), crochet, bird watching and such.

Some things take to much time or dedication.  I love guitars, for instance and taught myself to read music and play (classical guitar), but it does require constant practice.   My hands are somewhat arthritic now as well.

About four years ago, I discovered Taiko drumming and fell in love with the powerful, exciting sound of these drums.  There is something about drumming that most of us respond to.  It seems to ignite some ancient memory and move us spiritually. Here are some photos of the dojo we attend after class and a video of a performance of Ryu Shu Taiko.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ever since that first exposure  when I saw and heard a great Taiko performance, I needed to play that drum!  In fact, it was at the Sakura Matsuri (Cherry Blossom Festival) at  the Wang Center of Stony Brook University here in Long Island, NY, and the performers where members of the  Ryu Shu Kan Japanese Arts Center.

Almost every week now, along with my Taiko partner, Sam (my daughter) I play these fabulous, thundering drums.  I can’t claim to be an accomplished drummer and don’t know, if I’ll ever feel confident enough to perform with the group,  but I’m loving it anyway.

The photos and video were taken by Sam and are posted on her YouTube Channel.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, misc, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not Making Jewelry? Play Drums!

  1. Shinrin says:

    When I first saw them, I HAD TO PLAY THOSE DRUMS! One day I got an email from Gerard Senese (taiko drummer & sensei at Ryu Shu Kan dojo) asking me to do the filming & photography for the festival! He said that Junko Fisher (one of the Japanese dancers at the Sakura Matsuri) told him that I had videos of their performances at my website. Never would I have thought that I’d end up being the photographer & videographer, play Taiko drums or having my Ronin Yoshino manga table at the festival! How ironic that their dojo was nearby all this time?! I’ve always wanted to play an instrument & taiko is the best! Great blog post & thanks for including my photos & video!

    btw: The name of the song in the video is called “Inaka no Kisha”.

  2. Shinrin says:

    Reblogged this on Shinrin Art Blog and commented:
    When I first saw Ryu Shu Kan play taiko drums, I HAD TO PLAY THOSE DRUMS! One day I got an email from Gerard Senese (taiko drummer & sensei at Ryu Shu Kan dojo) asking me to do the filming & photography for the festival! He said that Junko Fisher (one of the Japanese dancers at the Sakura Matsuri) told him that I had videos of their performances at my website. Never would I have thought that I’d end up being the photographer & videographer, play Taiko drums or having my Ronin Yoshino manga table at the festival! How ironic that their dojo was nearby all this time?! I’ve always wanted to play an instrument & taiko is the best! Great blog post & thanks for including my photos & video!

    btw: The name of the song in the video is called “Inaka no Kisha”.

  3. Pingback: Not Making Jewelry? Play Drums! « Shinrin Art Blog

  4. Pingback: I want to do this and that, and …… | Art-Z Jewelry

Leave a Reply

