My favorite jewelry books & DVDS for Inspiration, Instruction and Marketing

I’ve never taken a jewelry making class, although I would love to.  I’d like to think of myself as self taught but am I really?  I’ve accumulated many books, DVDs and magazines throughout the decades that taught me numerous techniques and inspired many designs.

I learned about doing craft shows, displays and marketing, photography (still learning), pricing, and most importantly, online marketing (still working on that one too).  So can I really claim to be self taught?

Because I’ve received several requests from aspiring jewelry artists for advice regarding jewelry making resources (as if I were an expert which flatters me tremendously), I’d like to share my favorite  jewelry making books and DVDS in this post.  There are many books,  magazines and online jewelry networks I have not mentioned.  Perhaps in a future post I will cover some online resources.  There are just so many.

This the best book I’ve read about social networking and selling jewelry online.  It is very comprehensive and indispensable to anyone even thinking of selling jewelry (and other things) online.  There is also an eBook available for immediate access.  Without this book I probably wouldn’t have started this blog or ventured into online selling.

A great book for instruction on wire weaving and more with easy, clear illustrations and inspiring designs.  Jodi Bomardier taught me how to weave!

I love this book by Melody MacDuffee!  If you like lacy wire frames around your stones and the beautiful delicate look it gives your jewelry designs, this book is perfect.  The instructions are clear and thorough.  I often use the techniques I learned from this book.

These books and DVDS are excellent resources for instruction and inspiration for both beginners and more advanced jewelry artists.  Some of them were my earliest resources for jewelry making.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, misc, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My favorite jewelry books & DVDS for Inspiration, Instruction and Marketing

  1. Cassie says:

    This is so wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing – I always look at these when I’m buying beads to learn more about it since I’ve taught myself everything so far, and now I know just which ones to pick.

  2. I have been considering buying Weave Wrap Coil by Jodi Bomardier for some time, but with your recommendation I will do it today. Thank you for these invaluable tips, Jane

  3. zoraidabros says:

    I enjoy Jodi’s book and learned a lot from it. She’s writing a new one, can’ wait to see that one.

Leave a Reply

