Variations on a Theme

I can’t seem to stop making copper cuffs.  The whole process of cutting the sheet, folding it into shape, hammering it, filing the edges smooth and making the clasp is such great fun!

My biggest decision is whether to oxidize it, leave it shiny, create a patina (what color/colors?), add beads, punch holes in it, add wire lacing, make it wide, make it narrow, add links to it or combine it with another metal (like a brass clasp).  I’m sure I will come up with even more variations soon enough.

Perhaps I can etch into it, enamel it, paint on it. I would never have guessed how many versions I can come up with using this simple copper cuff and I’m still new at this!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, misc, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Variations on a Theme

  1. Wish I could afford to have one of each! Every single one is gorgeous! I love the hammered copper cuff I purchased from you and, in fact, I have it on right now. Keep up the great work!

  2. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Diane! It makes me happy to know you really like the cuff I made and actually wear it. I’d love to see a photo of you wearing it so I can show it off.

Leave a Reply

