Jewely Makeover part II

At a jewelry party I recently participated in, I sold some of my older pieces (along with new ones) .  Some of these had been sitting in my online shop for over a year and I had all but given up on them thinking that perhaps they were not good enough.  I am glad I didn’t dissassemble them as I’m prone to do.  They were a big hit.  In fact, I had special requests to make more of them!   

It was a treat to revisit my spiral link necklace and to create another one.  This time, the only change I made was in the combination and the oxidizing of the metals.  The original necklace was made of copper and brass and, at that time, I did not oxidize my jewelry.    The newer version is all copper and is oxidized.  I’ve grown to appreciate that aged look. 

So here are photos of both the original and the newer version.  Unfortunately, the older photo is not great.  My photographs too, have evolved (I hope) and a better camera didn’t hurt. 

 

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, misc, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jewely Makeover part II

  1. Your wire work is beautiful both ways, non-oxidated and oxidated. However, like you, I love the look of the “vintage”. There is an earthy sexiness to the darker and richer look (IMHO ^_^).
    Keep up the great work! Your pieces are so beautiful!

  2. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Diane! I always love hearing from you. I’ve really taken to the darker (slightly) and richer look of oxidized copper.

  3. Hellopalz says:

    The twisted wire work look amazing! these day i’m loving working with wire myself! the possibilities are endless!

  4. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Hellopalz! Working with wire is a lot of fun despite the punishment your hands endure.

Leave a Reply

