One Man’s Trash….

I’ve just been given a gift of copper tubing and other assorted copper pieces left over from a construction job.  An architect friend was thoughtful enough to save them for me from a recent job.  It feels like Christmas!  I’m imagining all the things I can create with these.  Those perfect, closed copper circles will be just right for the frames of pendants and earrings.  Wow, I don’t know what to start first!  Oh, all the possibilites.   I ran out to buy a Junior Tube Cutter from Home Depot and just received the Gilders’ Paste I ordered.  The patina would look great on the tubing.  I can’t wait to start playing! 

I’ll have to put it off though.  I recently participated at a jewelry party and have special orders to fill.  That will be a future post since I forgot to take my camera and will have to wait for my friend and fellow jewelry artist to send me her photos.   First things first.   

Thanks so much Keith for sending me your leftover scraps!  Talk about one man’s trash.  

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, misc, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Man’s Trash….

  1. Shinrin says:

    You’re just like a Bowerbird!

  2. Hellopalz says:

    Lol.. That is so sweet of ur friend to give these finding to u 🙂 create some thing fun and share it with us

  3. Linda says:

    Wow, what a friend…I found some heavy, heavy solid copper and haven’t thought of what to do with it…can’t wait to see what you do with these treasures.

    Linda C

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks Linda. That was nice of him to think of me. The solid heavy copper you found would probably have to be cut with a saw. Maybe your hubby can cut it into useable pieces? Perhaps you can make some dangles for earrings or a necklace.

  4. You have been blessed! Looking forward to seeing what you create with the “trash”. I know you’ll come up with some gorgeous new things! ^_^

  5. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Diane. I’m already having a few ideas.

Leave a Reply

