Before My Computer

Before I had an online store, or even a computer for that matter, I used to love to crochet.  I still do but haven’t found the time to go back to it. Making jewelry for my shop, taking photos, editing, listing, marketing and being online in general suck up all my time.

I still have the sweaters, hats and blankets I made for my daughter when she was a child. She’s all grown up now but I can’t seem to part with some of the crocheted things I made.  There are so many items that I sometimes thought of donating them to a church or some other worthwhile organization, but I can’t.  They’re precious momentos for me now.  I also made childrens’ sweaters and hats for sale at craft shows and even some of these, I’m holding on to. I don’t really know why except that I still like the the way they turned out.

Here are two of the sweaters I made a long, long time ago.  I never did like to count stitches or follow patterns so I made them up as I went along.

A childs’ cardigan sweater

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in misc, updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Before My Computer

  1. OMG Zoraida, these are absolutely ADORABLE! I have a new grandson on the way. Are you sure you won’t part with one of these? ^_^

  2. Noralynn says:

    I learned how to crochet from a blind woman when I did individual home care. I never used patterns either. Why bother when you can get the results you want by using you head:) I got ‘hooked'(haha) on suade yarn. Oooooo so soft!

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks for reading Noralynn! Although I haven’t crocheted in over a decade, I’m always getting ideas of things to make. Someday I’ll pick it up again. I still have a shawl I made myself (waiting for them to come back in style) and lots of yarn. I honestly don’t remember when I learned to crochet but it was probably from a book. .

Leave a Reply

