Jewelry Makeover

I’ve recently started looking, with a very critical eye, through some of the older pieces of jewelry I had created.  Like most artists who are constantly perfecting and refining their work, my older stuff looked really amateurish to me now.  The craftsmanship in particular was horribly executed!  I was shocked.

I immediately took the offensive jewelry items off my online shops thinking all the while, “how could I have listed these for sale, they’re terrible!” Some of the pieces were really not that bad.  The designs were good but the wirework was not.  I hope that means my techniques and designs have improved and that’s a good thing.

As a result of this evaluation of my work,  I have decided to remake some of these inadequate pieces.  An assignment that will keep me busy for a while, I’m sure.  Now I hope that I don’t look at these remade items of jewelry sometime in the near future and think, “yuk…how could I have thought this was good enough to sell?”

Here is the original version of the Turquoise Pendant Necklace.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, misc, updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jewelry Makeover

  1. Regina says:

    Well to be honest…I like them both. I know we all look through tougher eyes when it comes to our own work but really I like the first one. It has a rustic quality to it and some of us like that. TO be honest…I don’t think that you could make a bad piece of jewelry.

  2. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks so much Regina for your comments!!! I really do appreciate hearing your opinion. I like rustic too but I felt the wire in the chain was too heavy looking for the pendant and was not happy with the imbalance. Keep critiquing me, please.

  3. Linda says:

    Are you kidding??? I agree I don’t think you could make a bad piece of jewelry. That said, I know what you mean about being so self-critical. I take a look at some of the things I made last year and know that I’d never give them away today.

  4. Diane says:

    I totally agree with Regina that it’s not possible for you to make a bad jewelry design & execution of workmanship! I also think that both pieces are beautiful and I like the new version with the beautiful wire scrolling around the pendant. Have fun re-designing your older pieces. Can’t wait to see how you’ve updated them (it’s fun seeing the before & after photos!).

  5. Shinrin says:

    I like both versions! The original was more rustic & the new version is a little more dressed up. It’s impossible for you to make bad jewelry, like how it’s hard for me to draw really bad. Wanna know what bad jewelry is? The mass produced stuff you see in every department store that’s made by machines – it has no spirit.

  6. Oh, yeah, I have a box full of rejects just waiting for a redesign. Would wear both of them with no problems, but I REALLY love your second version. And I do agree that you cannot make a bad jewelry, Zoraida!

  7. Zoraida, I agree with everyone else here that you can’t (and probably never could) make a bad piece of jewelry! 🙂

    One thing I try to remember is that people who don’t make jewelry (such as most of your customers) really don’t see the things that look like glaring flaws to you.

    Just as when I look at non-jewelry forms of art that I couldn’t make myself, I don’t see the flaws even when the artist points them out to me; my eyes aren’t trained to recognize them as flaws.

    I love both versions of the necklace above – one is more rustic and the other more refined. But both are very eye-catching and artistic to me!

    I do know how you feel about your older pieces, though. I’m horrified at a lot of my earlier work, and my fingers itch to take some of those pieces back from the people who have been happily wearing them so I can “improve” them up to my current standards! 🙂

    • zoraidabros says:

      Rena, Thanks so much for the compliments and encouraging words. Yes, sometimes I want to take back jewelry to “improve” it from my customers even though they never noticed or even cared about any slight imperfections. It really is ridiculous when I think of it. That could mean I’d be selling my jewelry with a policy of lifetime adjustments for improved skills! At least it could establish a continuing relationship with customers..lol!

  8. tela says:

    Hi Zoraida! Hopefully, I can figure out to post on WordPress, I haven’t tried before…

    I just want to let you know that I love the revamped piece, but the original had A LOT going for it. I like how the curl at the bottom echoed back to the chain. I like them both 🙂

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Tela. I did like the original but after time, I thought the chain was too rugged for the pendant.
      I really like WordPress – it’s not too hard to figure out. Of course, my daughter ( http://shinrinart.wordpress.com) has always had WordPress blogs and helps me tremendously!!! I had to many problems with Blogger so I switched.

  9. Pingback: Before and After Patina | Art-Z Jewelry

Leave a Reply

