Birds nest class follow up

I survived the wirework class!  After a short meeting of the Suffolk Gem & Mineral club members, the floor was handed to me.  As I mumbled “hello everyone”, I was asked to stand with a signal to speak louder, and for a brief second, I froze.  These people didn’t really know who I was although they had seen me at shows here and there.  I quickly blurted out my reason for being there and luckily, most of them already had pliers in  hand, ready to go.

One of the members came over to help distribute the little packets of supplies I had made and I was relieved – “great, I don’t have to stand here talking to the group. I can walk around and pretend this is a one on one”.  As I started making the nest and moving from person to person, I began to relax and calm down.  They all seemed so eager to learn this, I was flattered.  These “rock hounds” could cut cabs from rough and do all sorts of wonderful lapidary work and I could only show them this simple little wire work.  I was humbled.

The evening went by quickly.  Little nests began to sprout throughout the room, some were already on chains, one was a future decoration for a Christmas tree (I hadn’t thought of that!) and one was dangling from an ear.   At the end, everyone completed their birds nest project, I was thanked and asked to think of what I want to teach next. I did it!

The experience inspired me to revisit my little nest theme and I created this necklace.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, misc, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birds nest class follow up

  1. Yaaaaaay & congrats, Zoraida! Be sure to post what you will be teaching the next time you are asked to do so. Your jewelry is so beautiful!

  2. zoraida says:

    Thanks Diane. I’m glad to have this experience but prefer a smaller, more intimate group setting.

  3. Hellopalz says:

    Its a very pretty necklace…the wirework is amazing

  4. zoraida says:

    Thank you Hellopalz, after I made of it I thought of a basket (putting all your eggs in it).

  5. Dita says:

    Another great piece, Zoraida. I met your beautiful jewelry and great writing from Rena’s site. Really enjoyed your post. This jewelry piece is just so elegant. I’ll come back again and follow you. Keep in touch. Dita.

  6. zoraida says:

    Thank you so much Dita. I really appreciate your comment. I do love Rena’s site. I meet the nicest people there.

  7. Pam Kriner says:

    HI Zoraida! Have been reading your blog for the past two hours and am enjoying watching the process you have gone through and progress you have made. I am new to the art and I have SO much to learn! Thanks for all the information! I would like to try the bird’s nest pendant and was wondering if you ever posted &/or sell a tutorial?

Leave a Reply

