Imitation, Flattery, Facebook and Paranoia

I received an email from Facebook stating that I was tagged in a photo by one of my fans. My first reaction was one of confusion.  I rarely show my “face” on the internet. I always look terrible, how could anyone have a picture of me on it?  Ridiculous and paranoid, I know, but a sense of fear crept over me.  Had someone stolen my identity?   The name was
foreign. (It turned out to be Slovenian according to Google translater.)

I was afraid to click on the link.  Would my computer get a virus?   The email certainly looked genuine.  I held my breath and clicked on the link….

In front my screen was a photo of a copper bracelet with beads that appeared to be imbedded in it.  It was my beaded copper cuff… but then, it really wasn’t.  Someone else had made this and posted it on Facebook.

Did they take credit for my design or did they make this before I did and perhaps were accusing me of stealing  theirs (slight panic)?  It was written in Slovenian (at least
according to Google). I couldn’t read it. The translater was quite useless!

I scanned down their comment and recognized my name at the bottom.  What a relief! They must be giving me credit after all.  There were words that appeared to interpret as “inspired by”.  I calmed down and decided it was OK after all.

I wrote a comment in English thanking the jewelry artist for honoring me by creating one of my pieces and giving me credit.  As the paranoia faded, I actually began to feel flattered.

Here is my cuff.  This is the cuff created by Nakit Merak.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imitation, Flattery, Facebook and Paranoia

  1. Wow! What a scary thing for you to experience. But how nice that Nakit loved your cuff and tried replicating it.

  2. tela says:

    What a wonderful artist to give you credit like that!!! What a beautiful bracelet to inspire others, too. I can imagine how scary that must have been at first.

Leave a Reply

