Garden Bells, Copper & Cuffs

We have a small, Japanese, iron bell in our garden  that had a wind catcher attached to capture the breeze and make it ring.  As a  result of stormy Irene passing through, the paper was torn off.  It rang no more.

I  decided to create a windcatcher out of thin copper sheet to replace the paper catcher.  It worked out  beautifully, the bell was ringing again and the copper shone brightly  in the sun.  That gave me a jewelry making idea! Why not made a copper bracelet using copper sheet?

Since the sheet is quite thin, I folded it over itself three or  four times until it felt substantial.  With my indispensible chasing  hammer, I pounded the metal until it was stiff and had a nice, weathered appearance.  I  folded a 3/4″ section at each  end to make a flap and inserted a handmade clasp of brass wire between the fold. The cuff was then  curved on a marble kitchen roller and pounded again to shape it.   Then I  squished the cuff slightly to make it oval.

It was almost done! After dipping it  in LOS, rubbing it with steel wool, buffing it with a polishing cloth, I sealed  with with a fixative.

Wow, all  that pounding was fun! I made several bracelets. The  first one sold just hours after I listed it.

Now to cover the roofs on my  birdhouses in copper. http://www.making-jewelry-now.com/rustic-copper-cuffs.html

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, misc, tutorials, Uncategorized, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Garden Bells, Copper & Cuffs

  1. What a GREAT idea! You do such beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

