Carnelian & Copper Wire Necklace

I had just a few large, luscious, Carnelian beads that I was saving for some special project. Their long, barrel shape was difficult for me to design around.

Initially I was going to use only one as a pendant but couldn’t decide what to do with the chain. Should I suspend it from a cord, make a basic link chain, a ribbon?

One bead on a necklace was not enough for me. I finally decided on three beads. I wrapped them with half round wire, created what I thought would be interesting links and a hanger for the pendant.

I used heavy 14 gauge copper wire. Since the wire is so thick, I curved and swirled it
so make it appear more graceful then flattened it a bit here and there.

So here is my finished necklace.  Read some comments and post your own – http://www.making-jewelry-now.com/carnelian-copper-wire-necklace.html

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in jewelry, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Carnelian & Copper Wire Necklace

  1. This necklace is gorgeous! So elegant! Kudos!

    Diane

  2. Nancy Pace says:

    Perfection! Always love your designs my friend:) Now where was that tut…? Found it! Off to work on it 🙂 Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

