The evolution of my Fancy Flower Pendant Necklace

Despite my intentions to create something from a plan, my jewely always evolves in stages.  Sometimes I think I just don’t know when to stop.  I keep adding things and taking away other things until I finally think ….it’s done!  I wonder if anyone else works this way.   I do the same thing when I draw, paint or do anything creative.   Am I a perfectionist or just plain neurotic? 

This necklace was featured in Rena Klingenberg’s newsletter – Jewelry Business Success News – http://www.home-jewelry-business-success-tips.com/newsletter-153.html

After having created my Here Comes the Sun necklace, I wanted to make another pendant utilizing the same technique I had just “mastered”.

As usual, I created a necklace around the pendant. I added some turquoise beads for contrast and yellow calcite for the chain.

Fortunately, or unfortunately, the necklace sold within one day after listing. This repeat customer was one I had made a special order for previously. Now she wants earrings to match. Could it get any better?

I’m so glad I took that initial order. I really didn’t think it would sell that quickly, if ever.

This would probably look great as a pendant

I added a “hanger” of twisted wires, then some Turquoise beads…….

Now I've added a hanger and some beads

OK, so now it’s becoming a necklace..not a pendant nor a pin, so I have to create some sort of chain.

I think it's finished now

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, jewelry, Uncategorized, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The evolution of my Fancy Flower Pendant Necklace

  1. Linda Byrd says:

    Beautiful necklace. I especially like the turquoise beads with the warm colors.

  2. This is such a gorgeous piece you’ve created. I really like the added turquoise you put in!

  3. Constance Epperson says:

    1st time visiter…..just have to comment….
    My take is: you are neither negatively perfectionist nor neurotic,but just plain creative.
    I think we ( all beaders) struggle with this. Even following a tutorial becomes, “lets see what happens if I do this?”, or “what if I substitute bead sizes I will actually wear?”, and on and on it goes…..
    So this seems to slow us down, so what? Look at the awesome results. Your designs are inspiring. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

