How I sabotaged my sale and kept my necklace

This is my favorite necklace (for now).  I made it as a challenge to myself.  I wanted to create a collection of wire jewelry consisting of a necklace, earrings and a bracelet.  I completed it and listed it for sale on my http://zoraida.artfire.com shop. 

As I usually wear a newly created piece for a day or so to “test” it for wearability, comfort and public response, I did the same for this necklace.  I began to notice that I really liked it.  It went very well with everything I wore.  It looked old, vintage and bohemian,.  It was me.  I started appreciating the wirework and overall design.  In short, I loved it!  I took it off my shop.  I unllisted it.  This one, I said, is for me! 

I recently wore this necklace on a plain, black, T shirt to a show.  I was a vendor.  Why do people always seem to want the piece that you’re wearing??  Is it because they think they can’t have it, or maybe it’s the presentation?  I struggled inside with the decision telling myself, “I can make another one, it’s not like I gave birth to it.  I really could use the money.  What, am I crazy, I’m here to sell!”

I found myself sabotaging my own merchandise.  “Yes, it can leave green marks on your neck.  That depends on your body chemisty.  I don’t sweat much and I clean it often.  Yes, the copper will darken over time and lose that shine, but ketchup works great and the smell won’t linger”.

 At last, the customer purchased another piece and I sighed with relief.  She asked if I would  be making any more of the same set.  She wants the whole collection.  I normally create one-of-a-kind jewelry but decided I would make another, very similar, collection. 

I suspect she will no longer be interested in buying the set after I’ve made it and a few weeks have gone by.  That’s OK, I’ll simply list it for sale, again.  I may or may not sell it but…. I still get to keep my favorite necklace!

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, jewelry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I sabotaged my sale and kept my necklace

  1. Diane says:

    Zoraida ~

    What a GREAT story! Yes, it does seem that the jewelry a vendor is wearing sure seems to look better to the customers than the ones just laying on the table or shown on a stand. I’m glad you got to keep your favorite necklace to wear for a few more days (or months, as the case may be). ^_^

  2. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks for reading Diane. I’t’s probably silly on my part to become attached to things I make but such is life.

  3. Nancy Pace says:

    You are so funny Zoraida! I love your story. I agree that they want what you are wearing. A young customer once told me she admired me and if I chose to wear or use something I must think it is special,that made her feel it was special too so she wanted it.
    It is really flattery when that happens. I sold a ring right off my hand at the last show, I just love doing that.

    Your necklace is really great. I like your new blog better,I am glad it works for you. I am working on a new blog site too,one on my website. I hope it turns out as well as yours.

Leave a Reply

