Creative Addiction Disorder

I got up in this morning with an overwhelming need to create something.  I rumage through my stash of beads, wire and leftover projects till the tiny spark of an idea lights up.  Sketching furiously and laying out pieces of my stash, I rearrange them continuously until – I’ve got it.  I know what I’m going to make!
 
Hours go by without my noticing them.  My stomach growls, I forgot to eat.  I tell myself I’ll eat as soon as I finish this one part.  I complete another section, then another.  Can’t seem to stop at this point, I’m almost done!
 
Another hour goes by.  I’m beginning to slow down or perhaps I’m running out of energy. I must at least go to the bathroom.  Relunctantly, I go to the bathroom taking my work in progress with me to stare at and visualize the final product.  I get back to work quickly, fixing and changing little things it here and there. 
Finally, it’s finished!   Now I have to photograph it, edit it, list it and post it.  
 
I think I’ll eat something, and I should do some laundry, clean the house and feed the pets. I realized that I didn’t have a single thought about anything else all day. Do I have a problem?
About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in art, jewelry, misc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creative Addiction Disorder

  1. Geri S says:

    Hi my name is Geri S. Happily married over 30 years. You are very talented. I love and appreciate your work. I am also a jewelry designer, and love to work in many mediums. Copper sheet and wire, crystals, Eco friendly up-cycled paper, wood and recycled plastic I too am located in New York. We also share some of the same symptoms. Just before going to bed, an idea, a design, or an improvement on a piece I’m working one stays in my head till I fall asleep. No counting sheep for me.Ha Ha. Just go with the flow I would not change a thing in my life I’m a very happy, creative
    woman of a certain age finally following my artistic passions.Please visit my website at http://siennaoriginals.com/store/

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Geri. I’m sure we’re not the only ones to go to bed with designs in our heads. Sometimes design problems even work themselves out while we sleep! I like your site and work! Thank you for liking my fb, too. I too, love to finally do what I love -(We creative women of a certain age). I also have a website at http://zoraidajewelry.com – I’m working hard but this time, for me.

Leave a Reply

