Bead and Wire Earrings Tutorial

These earrings all utilize the same basic design and are relatively easy to create.   No complicated wire work skills are necessary. You can vary the number of beads, shapes, colors and patterns as you please.  I recommend bead sizes no bigger than 6mm.  The hole should be big enough to fit 20 gauge wire.

Supplies:

Two 6 1/4″ pieces of 20 gauge, round, soft wire for the frames

Two 14″ pieces of 24 gauge, round, soft wire for coiling

16 to 20 beads about 6mm size with holes large enough to fit 20 gauge wire

Wire nipper/cutter

Small nylon jaw pliers

Chasing hammer

Flat nose or chain nose pliers

Steel block

Mandrel, or other shaping tool for ear wires.  A pencil or marker are fine

Needle file, emery board or cup burr for smoothing wire ends

Hold the 20 gauge wire in your non dominant hand and start wrapping a 14″ section of 24 gauge wire about 1/2″ from the end.  Make approximately 14-16 wraps.

String a bead onto the 20 gauge wire

Go over the bead with the 24 gauge wire and wrap around the 20 gauge, down, around and back up.

String another bead onto the wire and repeat the previous step until you have seven or eight beads.  Wrap the 24 gauge wire the same number of times as you did at the start

With your fingers, gently bend the whole piece into a “U” shape and trim the excess 24 gauge wire.  Pinch it with your chain or flat nose pliers

Cross the frame wires to create a teardrop shape at the top

Wrap the smaller section of 20 gauge wire around the longer piece once.  Cut it close to the longer section of wire and pinch it with your pliers

Straighten the long wire and place it on your steel block.  Carefully and lightly hammer the wire section with no coils or beads on it to harden the ear wire

The wire will curve.  With your nylon jaw pliers, straighten it

String a bead onto the wire

Bend the wire 90 degrees with your thumb just over the bead

With a mandrel, pencil, marker or other cylindrical shaped tool, curve the wire toward the front of the earring to create an open loop.  Try to keep the small bend over the bead.  This will hold it in place later.

Trim the wire to approximately 1 1/4″

With the flat nose pliers, bend about 1/4″ slightly outward at the tip of the wire

File the end of the ear wire with a small file, emery board, or cup burr to smooth it and remove any sharp edges

Your earring is finished.  Make the other earring. They should look something like this.  These have been oxidized with Liver of Sulfur.  Read comments and add your own here and/or http://www.making-jewelry-now.com/bead-wire-earrings.html

About zoraidabros

I'm Zoraida and I design and create handmade, one of a kind jewelry. My work is inspired by the art of ancient world cultures that have endured the shifting trends of fashion. I prefer to work in copper and semi precious gemstones but also appreciate fine lamp work beads, wood and other artistically crafted materials. Please visit my studio at http://zoraida.artfire.com and my website at http://zoraidajewelry.com
This entry was posted in events, jewelry, tutorials, updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Bead and Wire Earrings Tutorial

  1. Linda says:

    Awesome design…can’t wait to give it a try…

    Linda C
    Journeys in Jewelry Design

  2. zoraidabros says:

    Thanks Linda, Love to see your rendition.

  3. Deb Fredericks says:

    love this tutorial very basic, simple and extremely well done! Thanks,

  4. These are great earrings and love the tutorial. I actually have all the right tools! THANK YOU!

  5. gdevoid says:

    Thank you for a great tutorial and for leaving an article on it in Rena’s site.

  6. Vinita says:

    Great earrings, and great tutorial! I really like your designs and ideas. Great job!

  7. Zoraida- Thanks so much for this clearly photographed tutorial. Can’t wait to to try out these little beauties. Thanks for sharing the love.
    Lynda

  8. mixedkreations says:

    Love the earrings, nice tutorial. Your wire work is always so smooth. Thanks for sharing your wonderful tutorial.
    Linda

  9. zoraidabros says:

    Thank you foe checking out my tutorial, Linda :)

  10. beatmags says:

    I love the earrings….Thank you for sharing….

  11. Magda says:

    very nice and beautiful,thank you.

  12. I just made your earrings and I plan to make many more in different colors. Thanks so much for the easy to follow tutorial.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you so much, Monsita! I’m so glad you found it useful and are making are making them. You can create lots of variations with this simple design. I have more tutorials like this in my head for the future.

  13. Great tutorial,easy to follow with great pictures.Thanks.

  14. Kathy Ruth says:

    I just saw these featured on The Beading Gem’s Journal and can’t wait to try them! Very pretty and versatile, too!
    I love all your wonderful photos. too.

  15. Meredith says:

    Just wanted to say thanks for posting this. I’m new at making jewelry so tutorials like this really help me out while learning. Thanks again! :)

  16. carolina says:

    I love your designs, they’re wonderful. I did these earrings, and I was happy with the result (:

  17. Pingback: Bead & Wire Earrings Tutorial | Green Oasis Gardens

  18. Hello Zoraida! Thanks for this tutorial. It was easy to male and turned out beautiful. I made a pair and gifted it to my friend but I was able to take a photo of it and it came out great!!! You can see a picture of it on my Twitter page. I am doing a show next month and was wondering if I can get your permission to sell any others I make from this design if I use it again. Thanks in advance.

    • zoraidabros says:

      Thank you Tara for using my tutorial. Please feel free to make and sell more earrings – they are easy and you can create so many variations. Good luck with your show and in all that you do :)

  19. Ingra says:

    Inspiring! Thanks a ton for sharing your gift. :)

  20. tillyann9 says:

    How silly of me, should think before I write :)
    Thanks to your great detailed tutorial I realized it won’t work with the Gizmo, for a change I have to follow the instruction as given :)

  21. Staci says:

    I made these and the first pair I made were perfect! I wear them almost all the time and get HUGE complements. I used rondelles and your technique and they were super easy. Thank you!

  22. Fantastic! Love how detailed your tutorial is!

  23. Pingback: How to Make Beaded Wire Earrings

  24. pat says:

    I have recently retire and love jewelry your tutorial is so clear and easily understand I will be getting the necessary tools to start workings thanks a lot

Leave a Reply

